diy solar

diy solar

Basic generator charging question

halibutcollier

I am building a system that relies on a generator more than solar(please don't shoot me, I am in Alaska). My current generator is a Kohler 14kw model that is split phase and has 70 amp max output. I also just received my EG4 600xp which has(as I understand) a 125a charger. I am trying to calculate generator run time to charge my battery bank. My current plan is to have 48v 250ah bank of silica salt batteries that have an 80 percent DOD. There is no magic that is going to increase the amps coming from the generator...right? so all my calculations need to be off the 70a coming from the genny?
And with a 250ah bank at 80%DOD I am looking at 200ah of usable storage...right?
So, and here is the real question, if my batteries were sitting at 20 percent, almost dead, would my generator need to run full tilt for 2.85 hours to fully charge?
Sorry for the drawn out question, but I am new to this (solar/batteries and this forum). Thank you for any input and knowledge.

You're on the right track, but it usually takes longer than a Ah/A calculation as most batteries need to be held at peak voltage as current tapers to full charge.

What is a silica salt battery?

I believe charging amp figures are generally at battery voltage, so 125A x 48v = 5kW = 20A at 240v.

So your generator will need to run at low load for 2-3 hours. I don't know how quick those batteries will take the charge.

LOL shit!!! That'll teach me to answer a question after waking up from a nap.

MY statement is only true if that's DC output of the generator, which doesn't happen.

What is actually charging the battery, and again, WTF is a silica salt battery?

Ah... It's just a GEL battery.