diy solar

diy solar

Basically a 24v power bank charging from ev power station.

Malachi09

Hello everyone!

I'm new to solar power systems and anything electronics. I've binged watched all of Wills videos countless times over the years so am somewhat familiar with what goes into these systems.

I am currently planning a van conversion and would like to add a 24v power system. I currently work in a secluded area that offers Ev car chargers that no one takes advantage of. This van conversion will end up being my daily driver/ almost primary residence in a year from now. So my question is this...

How do I wire my system to charge the 24v batteries from the EV car charger, permission to do so has been granted, without having solar panels installed yet. I'd like to build in the option to add solar panels in the future if needed but the main source of charging will be from public power/ EV chargers.

The reason for not adding the panels yet are unfortunately theft. The crime rate here in Hawaii for car break-ins are ridiculous and having $600 worth of panels sitting on my van is just asking for something bad to happen.

I concluded that having a shore power adapter with a "Dog Bone" to connect to the EV charger would work but converting that power to charge my batteries safely without shortening their life span is what I'm having a hard time with.

I've attached a picture with the input and output ratings for the EV charger.

Thank you!

Attachments

• 20240428_131111.jpg
    20240428_131111.jpg
    209.6 KB · Views: 11
There's no easy way to do this. If there were, a commercial product would be available.