diy solar

diy solar

batt. aH defined

BenD

first of all, Thank you Will, and i have read many posts on here so thanks to all, great knowledge base here. Will, your video's on youtube have broadened my mind in terms of solar, just a couple of things not so far well defined.
1; I have heard you say before something to the point of don't worry too much about amp hour ratings of manufactures (batteries) but the overall watt rating, volts x amps. But doesn't a 100aH batt. drain quicker, or have half the storage than a 200aH batt. at the same load drain even if the total watts are the same. I know, it is simple, I am a expert at overthinking things. The course of thinking here is price mostly, 950 BB at only 100aH, or diy LiFePO4 200aH, 24 volt, so 4 BB at 3,800 compared to 1,500 give or take depending where they come from.
2; I am having trouble reverse engineering the common concept of finding the total watts of what you want to run to decide the converter size. I would rather size the converter to the batt. bank so i know that I could power these items with bank, and the recharge would take this long for replenishment (this part I have lined out already)
3; why are some LiFePO4 batt. okay for series connection and others are not, is there a way to tell when it is not specified ( as it comes to diy batt. cells). IDK is it obvious or??
I know these basic Q's make it sound like I'm a simpleton, I do have a background with electricity Totally new to solar, intrigued, and sometimes it's the basics that get skimmed over.

Last edited:
AH vs WH:
The reason for my considering watt hours when sizing is it eliminates some of the math. A 12VDC WH is the same as a 120VAC WH.
A watt represents power.
So when sizing up your consumption in watts*hours (WH) you can judge your storage needs in WH as a direct comparison for a 12VDC, 24VDC, or a 48VDC battery. If you were to use AH you would need to factor in the battery voltage as well to accomplish the same comparison.