diy solar

diy solar

Battery Bank - sourcing and set up

JosephBr108

Hello all!

I'm new to solar systems and am installing one in my RV. I'm planning on ordering 6 or 8 of these batteries: https://www.alibaba.com/product-det...4520d22qNJc8&bypass=true&fullFirstScreen=true

First of all, do you think these are good batteries to purchase vs the more mainstream method of purchasing battleborn batteries? Also, once I'm ready to order these batteries from Alibaba, does anyone know what Trade Terms I should select? It's been recommended I ship by sea, but for the Trade Terms should I ship EXW or FCA or FAS or FOB or CFR or CIF etc??

I want to wire 4 of them in parallel to get 12V 280AH. BUT, can I wire two more in series to maintain 12V but increase the overall battery bank capacity? OR would I just have to purchase 8 of them and make two, 12V 280AH batteries?

In ADDITION, I've got some questions regarding my general solar system set up.

A picture of my wiring diagram is attached. I've essentially copied this wiring diagram - https://faroutride.com/interactive-wiring-diagram/

I'm planning on purchasing 4 of these 175 watt panels (here) and wire them in a series. To accommodate this system, I need an 80 amp charge controller and am planning on getting one of these (here).

Questions:
  1. How do I determine the the size of each circuit breaker needed? (I'm still figuring our needed wire gauges so am not worried about that yet.)
  2. What is this terminal fuse for in their diagram?
  3. I've read that for an 800 solar watt panel set up, I would need a 300+ amp hour lithium battery. The total amp hours of the battery bank I'm purchasing is 280AH. Is it actually necessary for me to have a larger battery bank for this system (700 watts from panels) or is that a nice-to-have given the larger capacity to generate electricity and store it?
  4. Do you know what this the solenoid shut off valve for propane does? I'm trying to figure out if I need it.