diy solar

diy solar

Blank slate...

Coconut

Aloha y'all :)
TOTAL newbie here
This forum & Will's work is amazing!
Im building my home (300sq') on a coconut farm in Hawaii.
https://www.coconutinformation.com
Dream is to be off grid
Currently wiring walls up for a small fridge, few outlets, lights & fans.

Would you wire anything special (in prep for solar) while walls are open?
Just ordered Will's book & eventually will need to settle on a solar system
Simple = better (as I am brand new to this)

Any and all tips, ideas, pointers appreciated.

Attachments

• hale.jpg
    hale.jpg
    113.9 KB · Views: 12
Personally if I were to go off grid, I would use 12 volt led lighting and have minimal use of 240 volt or 110 volt appliances. Hence, I would also install Extra Low Voltage cabling in the wall cavities, with ELV outlets, even cigarette lighter outlet if you like, you set the standards you prefer as it's a safer way to make use of electricity, especially if you're constructing a basic cabin. Yes, the cabling may be 4 mm2 but that's okay...

I agree with that . Run a few extra runs from the front to the back and bring down inside the walls and roll up . Keep a plan of where they are . I ran mine through under the ridgecapping one side to the other . House cable is not that expensive and you can use it for anything if its there . Good thinking 99.