diy solar

diy solar

BMS Settings for 12V LiFePO4 Using NOCO GEN5x1 Charger

Dr_Zu

The 80's were awesome. Right? Right???
Hey everyone. I'm an 30-year veteran medical device design engineer, but my training is mechanical / biomedical . . . so I'm relatively unequipped to understand the nuances of electrical engineering and I'm a total noob to LiFePO4 batteries. This is my first post here, but I'll make it a really long one to compensate for all of the posting that I haven't done in the past! :) Seriously though, I really appreciate those of you who are active on the forum. I've learned a TON from all of you! I appreciate, even more, those of you who have the stamina to read through all of this post. I'll be as brief as possible, but that's not my strong suit!

I just finished building a 12V LiFePO4 4-cell pack (see pics below) based on the knowledge that I gained here, from Will's videos, and from many late nights drinking good beer while reading and watching videos from all over the web. My BMS is from Overkill Solar and my application for the cell pack is powering the accessories on my pontoon boat (the boat is always used on a small ~45 acre lake so my application is far from "mission critical" . . . unless you consider losing tuneage mission critical, that is). All cells (ExpertPower 100Ah cells) were top balanced (using a constant voltage / currant power supply) and capacity checked (using one of the inexpensive load fixtures Will has reviewed) before being built into a pack. All cells checked out at over the 100Ah spec using the discharge fixture at 0.2C. I'm using a NOCO GEN5x1 Charger to charge the cell pack (set to Li-Ion setting, which NOCO claims is LiFePO4 compatible).

12V Acc Build 1.jpg12V Acc Build 2.jpg12V Acc Build 3.jpg12V Acc Build 4.jpg