diy solar

diy solar

Bonding inverter power only but with shore charging

nlagas

Hello all,

I have researched this information for quite a bit but didnt find anything that answers my question or I didnt understand it.

I am in the process of converting a cargo trailer into a small camper with storage in the back to host my paramotor engine (awesome sport, if you dont know it, look it up on youtube).

There are 500W solar on the roof with a BougeRV MPPT connected to a 100Ah Vatrer 12V battery. On it I have a 1100W Krieger inverter to feed a single outlet I am planning on using solely for a small 800W kettle on occasion. I have designed my system to be sufficient for unlimited of time in summer and 3 days in winter with a small fridge and a diesel heater. This is not my first build/conversion.

However there is something new this time, I've never done before which is to not have shore power inside the camper since I am planning on boondocking 100%. Since I am in PNW, I can't necessarily rely on my solar to charge my batteries on 2 consecutive trips, or even for longer trips in winter, I might have to top off on shore since the car wont be able to charge much (I dont have a DC-DC yet but have all the wiring etc. ready). I therefore have a 20A battery charger connected to shore through a 110V breaker I added inside my camper (as double rubber).

The scenario I imagine is being on shore to top-off my battery while needing my kettle inside. I'll go through my inverter, no problem. (Yes I know, I could use some sort of a Y shore line splitter to charge my camper while using shore power outside, but that does not illustrate my scenario). But where I struggle a lot, for some weird reason, is to figure out bonding/grounding.