diy solar

diy solar

Bridge rectifier as a blocking diode

Ilkkka

Hi everyone, newbie here!

I'm wanting to connect 280W solar panels in parallel and use bridge rectifier diodes instead of common schottky blocking diodes. This is because large enough schottky's are not readily available where I live.

So, do I connect positive and negative leads coming from the panel in to rectifier AC-terminals and then leads going to MPPT-charger in to rectifier DC-terminals?

Or, like it's usually done with schottky's that only the positive lead from the panel is connected. And in this case it would be connected in to rectifiers DC positive terminal and then MPPT-charger lead in to DC negative terminal (leaving AC-terminals "empty", without connection).

Thanks for your help. Sorry my terminology might not be up to standards as I'm still learning the ropes.

I'm not getting what you are trying to accomplish, unless you feel the need to drop more voltage, and waste the additional power from the current flowing across that greater drop, times two, if you use a bridge configuration. Where I want diodes (I do, because I have assorted cheap communist Chinese DC-DC converters hooked up here and there, and I'm not confident that current is always flowing the right way), you probably want to find a Schottky, and only on one side, unless you don't need it at all- I have panels in parallel and series (only 6, so far, on a 24V system, perhaps it doesn't apply to what you are doing) with descriptions which said they had diodes internally, so I just hooked the panels up and when I didn't see any trouble, I called it good enough for government work (a standard which I suspect might be rapidly becoming more easily met as I write).

Thanks for your replys, guys.

I wanted to avoid a lengthy post and keep my question simple, but here goes; I've got two 280W panels wired in series on the roof of my cabin. They will be covered in snow from approx. December till March.