diy solar

diy solar

Bringing old Microinverters into NEC 2020 compliance

Kurt_

Hi all,

New to solar. I don't have any experience in this field but I am a competent engineer.

I recently purchased a 10 year old solar system: 29 each of Canadian Solar CS6-220P 220W panels and Enphase M190 microinverters (15 of the old all-metal ones and 15 newer metal/black plastic inverters)

I am interested in building a low-cost grid-tied system compliant with NEC 2020 (Actually, CSA 22.3 No 9:2020). However the micro-inverters are only compliant with UL1741/IEEE1547 and can't be grandfathered in.

In a nutshell, I want to know what I can do to bring the old Enphase M190 microinverters into compliance so I can get ESA approval to tie in to the grid.

What's the best way to go about this?
- New inverters? What's cost effective and 2020 compliant? I'm eyeing APsystems DS3-S or Hoymiles HMS-1600-4T-NA. They can be cheap - if they fail I have the Enphase ones for backup.
- Power optimizer with RSS that is compatible with microinverters?
- Standalone rapid shutdown system?

Here's my proposed setup: https://api.opensolar.com/share/1182312/?token=AA8sJ4FDuQRi7q2DejY

HM1500 might be cheaper than HMS, however HMS will have better electrical compatibility with current year solar panels that weren’t around when HM1500 was designed. EG 56/112 cell

Rapid shutdown and optimization are not needed with microinverters so it’s “oxymoronic” to have them mentioned together unless you are doing something weird like stretching the DC cables across a gap in the array (RSD version of that i studied in depth like a fool, to the point where I came up with a 90% fleshed out plan and bought parts for, before realizing it’s a bad ROI project. RIP).