diy solar

diy solar

Can I connect a 12v power supply to a solar controller and install and automatic switch?

MMelick

I sell solar powered phone charging kiosks. You can lock your device in a locker with a code and plug into a charge cord. It has 12 lockers. My current setup is 160watt solar panel, 100aH battery, and 20amp solar controller. Clients would like dual power option. I would like to make it simple so they can just plug the unit in and it will automatically switch over from solar to grid. Everything I have found is not quite what I need. Most controllers Ive seen with dual option are 50a and bigger. This is too much for me. Also they seem designed to switch between battery and grid. I want to switch between solar and grid to feed the controller. Is this feasable? I am self taught in solar and have a lot to learn. I did this previously with a pico ups board from minibox. It worked but was a little unreiable I think due to 10a limit. Thanks in advance for any assistance! Link to parts appreciatted!

Matt20231103_083335.jpg

Your subject question and post text barely seem related.

Can you clarify what you're trying to do?

Solar controller = device that takes DC from PV and charges battery.

What are you trying to do with grid power? Solar controllers clearly can't accept grid power.

Clients use the unit with solar power. But want the option to also plug into wall power. So I am fitting the unit with a 20amp switching dc power supply. This will feed 12v to the solar controller instead of the panel. I am looking for an automatic transfer switch to do this. The only boards can find online are 10amps. Or a solar grid complimentary controllers at 20a.

Seems it would be easier to use a 120VAC to DC charger direct to the battery? No? It would do nothing unless it were plugged in.
This is the first thing that popped into my mind too.