diy solar

diy solar

Can someone double check my Chicken Coop plan?

marj

It's taken me a few months and hours of watching videos and note taking to wrap my head around this simple plan for two DC fans in my chicken coop. Please double check that my plan is solid and any suggestions are welcome! This is my first solar project. My background is in IT, so electrical is not my forte.

I'm going to do it in phases to spread the pain of cost out over a couple of months. I will be running the fans only during sunlight hours with the solar and using the battery packs that came with the fans to run them at night like I'm doing now. Next year I may add batteries to let them run longer at night. I live in Florida and it's hot in summer even at night.

I have two of the following DC fans:
Specs: 30W, 24V, 1.25A

I have the following solar panel. (I know now I should have gotten a bigger solar panel, so I will have to get another one)
Specs: 60W, 24V, 1.76A

I will be adding the following solar panel and it will be parallel connected to the 60W panel.
Specs: 120W, 24V, 3.37A

Math for solar panels:
Parallel connection, 180W, 24V, 5.13A
Math for DC fans:
60W, 24V, 2.50A

Phase 1: I'm going to just hook up one fan and the 60W solar panel with a DC-DC Convertor. (See Phase 1 attached)

I need to purchase the following products. I appreciate any suggestions or corrections with these components.

Solar Extension cable: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01D7VBJN...NISU9LKIM&ref_=list_c_wl_lv_ov_lig_dp_it&th=1
10AWG 10ft

I will need to go from the 10AWG wire from the solar extension cable to the 14AWG to the DC-DC convertor. I was going to use the female and male spade connectors to connect the two different gauge wires?

DC-DC converter: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09KGCDDW...NISU9LKIM&ref_=list_c_wl_lv_ov_lig_dp_it&th=1
Specs: Input voltage: 36V/48V DC, Input range: 30-60V DC, Output voltage: 24V DC (non-adjustable), Output current: 20A, Output Rated Power: 480W