diy solar

diy solar

Design Check: 12Vdc portable system

sallaben

Hi! I'm designing a portable 12Vdc system and still in the planning stages. I'm starting with a smaller battery bank and hoping to build a truly portable system that can be used in many settings: to reduce my electrical bill while on-grid, to provide instant backup power with a transfer switch during grid outages, as well as enabling minor conveniences on car-camping trips.

The first part of my system will be the battery bank, 12VDC distribution and 120VAC distribution. The inverter I plan to use is an inverter/charger with a transfer switch. I'll work on solar and charging from DC later.

Is anyone willing to take a look at my design and point out any potential improvements and/or glaring flaws? I am new to working with power but always willing to learn. If there is any problem with the image below, please let me know.

One outstanding question I have is the size of busbar I should use. Will 250A cut it or should busbars always match/exceed the preceding fuse's amperage limit?

Thank you and have a great rest of your day! ☀️:cool:

A couple initial thoughts:

A 30a SCC/charger is only going to get you a max of 360w of charging to your battery bank, at 270Ah * 12v = 3240Wh / 360w = 9 hours to charge the battery, or 2 average days of sunlight per full cycle of the batteries. That initial 80a charging from shore power will be fine though.

270Ah sounds a lot like a lead acid flavor of battery, you are aware that you can only discharge a lead battery to about 50% right, cutting you to 1620Wh but only needing a full day of no load draw to recharge. Is LFP an option?

The wire size between the batteries and inverters is going to be HUGE with that inverter wanting to pull 192a, that's welding wire size. Just to throw it out there, with your 12v loads is a 24v system with a hefty 24v->12v converter an option?

I'm assuming your 12v Load Center is a fancy way of saying fuse block?