diy solar

diy solar

Doing something wrong? Testing low power inverters with Oscilloscope

Destination: Moon

Hi,

Was interested in seeing how good or bad inverters are. I'm new to solar and oscilloscopes..... Although I've always wanted one. Even though I don't know what to use it for.....

Attached are a few pics of my test results. All plots were auto ranged with me stabilizing the display. Some don't look right but I couldn't get them to look like I thought they should. Welcome any help or comments - thanks

Attachments

• Bestek 500.jpg
    Bestek 500.jpg
    224 KB · Views: 11
  • Power Wave 300.jpg
    Power Wave 300.jpg
    239.4 KB · Views: 11
  • Giandel 600.jpg
    Giandel 600.jpg
    232.1 KB · Views: 11
  • Kodiak.jpg
    Kodiak.jpg
    204 KB · Views: 12
  • Household 120v.jpg
    Household 120v.jpg
    253.2 KB · Views: 12
Although I am not surprised at some of the inverter outputs, I am very surprised at what your 120V looks like. That must be a pretty cheap scope or you were not using a ground.

With 120VAC, you should be getting around 340V peak to peak. I am guessing you are using a 10X probe.

Last edited:
None of them look right.
Did you take them under load? How big?

This is what the wave looks like on a 40-year-old Philips scope.
CCC (Cheap Chinese Clone - MUST pv1800 vmpk). Almost no load (<100W).

oscil.png

Although I am not surprised at some of the inverter outputs, I am very surprised at what your 120V looks like. That must be a pretty cheap scope or you were not using a ground.
I was using the ground. But your right, it's a tiny battery powered scope that I thought would be ok for hobby use but maybe not... Or I got a bad one. The plot of the household does look bad. Could the fact that it was from a coiled 50 foot extension cord be creating distortion?

None of them look right.
Did you take them under load? How big?

This is what the wave looks like on a 40-year-old Philips scope.