diy solar

diy solar

Easiest Mounting Options

Siamac

What's the easiest way for a total beginner to mount panels on the roof? Will doesn't really have any information on DIY racking or installation and I think many beginners can benefit from a discussion.

For my specific situation, I have a flat untiled section and a tilted tile section. I also have an open balcony that I wouldn't mind covering with some solar panels. Panels are cheap, and I'm not really limited in space so the easiest cost effective way would be ideal.

I'm considering Eco-Worthy sun tracker, K2 racks from Santansolar or somehow mount them over the balcony. But ideally I would rather avoid messing with the roof tiles and drilling holes, if that's even a possibility.

So far, the Eco Worthy sun tracker seems like the easiest way, but it's much more expensive as well, and it's not even that easy.

Any advice or resources?

To find another means of mounting because in almost all situations, roof mounting of solar panels requires NEC compliance with offsets, rapid per module shutdown, etc. Will's not going to stick his neck out there. You need to do your own research with your authority having jurisdiction (AHJ).

A patio cover or other temporary structure that isn't intended to be walked on by firefighters is effectively a ground mount installation and is a little less pain-in-the-ass-y.

Good point.

So let's take the 2 different situations.
Let's say someone already has a permitted array and just expanding the according to the same alignment. So don't have to worry about not being in compliance. What's the easiest way? Am I correct to assume that an sun tracking set up has less restrictions on the roof?

And on the other hand, let's say someone doesn't want to bother with the headache and wants a small balcony array or small canopy. What's the best/easiest elevated mounting?

I'm considering Eco-Worthy sun tracker