diy solar

diy solar

Federal Tax Credit and State Sales Tax questions

Correct, this is why I only installed one heat pump mini split this year and another will go in next year. I carried over some of the Clean Energy Credit and probably won't need more Energy Efficiency Credit for my tax liability.
Well that sucks. I installed all four Mitsubishi this year and I have a credit carried over from last year on the solar. But I have to say, these new units got us through the crazy Texas heat this summer and kept the house frosty so I'm gonna take the hit and be happy.

On audits in general, I'm not a tax professional but I've been audited twice. They picked through every receipt and record looking for something (I beat them both times) but they had no interest in laying eyes on anything. Some of it will depend on whether you're grid tied due to the records there but even with off grid covering only part of the usage there's going to be a drop in the electric bill. Would they dig that far? I doubt it. The real key to any of this is to not have any red flags that trigger an audit. Because sans an audit it doesn't matter what you say. I'm not saying to lie or defraud by any stretch, but if you claim it one year when it was supposed to be another the worst you're likely looking at if audited would be to pay a penalty and any difference in what the tax savings may have been.

Thanks for all the input guys! My latest electric bill was $609 so this will be happening soon, even if I just temp panels on my flat roof.

Well that sucks. I installed all four Mitsubishi this year and I have a credit carried over from last year on the solar. But I have to say, these new units got us through the crazy Texas heat this summer and kept the house frosty so I'm gonna take the hit and be happy.