diy solar

diy solar

First post and it may be a bit unusual...........

MarkBorgen

I have a very unique need for solar panels, inverter(s) and batteries. They will most likely not be coming in the 'normal' sequence. This will be a longer initial post than most, so I will beg your indulgences in advance.

I've been designing and building handcrafted log homes for over 50 years and I just bought a farm in Sweden. I'm in the process of moving and I am working on a hybrid Swedish/American power system. A bit of background is needed so you can 'feel my pain.' US and Swedish (also most of Europe) power systems are different. The US power system at most homes and farms is basically 2 phase (120 v./120 v.) 60 Hz. power. We refer to things as 120 and 240 volt items and most house are set up this way. You can think of it as 1 Ph. and 2 Ph. power. In the US you would not need 3 Ph. until you approach a light industrial situation where some things are best run on 3 Ph. would you need any more than the two legs of 120/60 Hz. power. The Swedish system is different in that 99.9% of all homes and business have 3 Ph. (120 v./120 v./120 v.) but it is 50 Hz. Only the items with a very small current draw such as lamps, clocks, computers, televisions and such use one leg of the three available. In Sweden, most larger items such as microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers and almost every smaller shop tool I own, which is a lot, are all run on 240 volt/50 Hz. All the heavy equipment that I own is 3 phase/60 Hz. These are things like my large air compressor, table saws, bandsaw, sand blasting booth and molding machine. These will all run on the Swedish 3Ph/50 Hz., but the RPM may vary a bit and I can adapt these. These are also easy to repower with Swedish motors over time if it is a problem.