diy solar

diy solar

First Post, New House Build - Review my assumptions and point me in the right direction

voland

Good day,

This is my first post so please forgive the wall of text…

Im primarily looking for validation of my assumptions and some opinions if I am not thinking about this correctly. Keep in mind that I am fairly new to this and I will be doing a lot of reading and watching youtube for information to gain better understanding of these systems.

Background and data Ive gathered so far

Im building a new house in a very rural part of Texas and I am not 100% sure how reliable the power situation is going to be. My goal is to have a solar system that can run a large portion of the house during the day to offset my electric usage, under optimal conditions. Additionally, I would like to have enough battery capacity to heat/cool a bit of space for 3 days, in case of an emergency/power down type situation. Assuming some sunny days, I would like to have this system run pretty reliably "indefinitely". By that, I mean as long as the battery life cycle will permit. Yes, the pessimist in me wants to have a plan B…

Under normal conditions, my current and fairly inefficient house, used 7.2 kWh during the highest use hour of the highest use day which used a total of 129.8 kWh for the day. I expect this house to do a lot better since it will be better insulated, have more efficient HVAC systems (likely heatpump) etc. Nevertheless, I am basing my calculations on this…

1682011130605.png

The house plans allow for roughly 22 panels to be deploy with a south/south-east exposure(~150 degrees).

1682011145782.png