diy solar

diy solar

First Post

DAM650

Hello from Central TX.

We are currently building out a 16 x 16 x 10 shed, converting into a tiny house with a loft space.

As of now we have the electrical 120 volt roughed in, and spray foam closed cell insulation with 3 inch on the metal roof, and two inch on the walls.

I wanted to ask how I can correctly size an offgrid system to power up EG4 12000 BTU mini split, small fridge, dual burner induction top, instant water heater (should I do propane for the water heater and stove? I think yes), laptops, DC lighting, fart fan for a composting toilet to run constantly, and power for tv and soundbar and laptops, wifi booster. Anything else I have neglected to mention for tiny house living

I have zero experience with electric and building battery systems, other that watching tons of videos on batteries, and diy systems. For whatever reason electricity make my brain lock up.

Any formulas, advice, you have to offer is very welcome.

Thanks in advance

Darren

I'm definitely new to this, But I've been running our 12 V water pump and the 12 V composting toilet fan (24/7) from a 3 year old marine battery that I literally left discharged for 2 years, including multiple days of freezing in colorado winter. Currently I charge it with a cheap PWM charge controller about 1 day a week and then disconnect it and it runs both of those fine for another week.
I wroe off the battery as dead but since it continues to work I will keep using it to draw less energy form our other batteries.

Is the whole site off-grid, or just this shed?

Never to late to get into the planning ... but, as you are past, or going past, the appliance acquisition stage, I'd suggest the following:

- do the power audit ... see what your choices at this stage are/will do to you
- see if you can rework the appliances (propane/nat-gas cooktop, instead of induction), etc.