diy solar

diy solar

HELP:Renogy DCDC50A Draining Starter Battery

Whytey

I just got my solar/2nd battery all installed and hooked up in my 4runner. I have a Snomaster 12v fridge installed. I got it setup and ran my fridge overnight on May 17th and throughout the day on May 18th. On the evening of May 18th I checked on the system and found that my starter battery was below 11v. I disconnected my starter battery from the Renogy DCDC50A controller and it immediately went back up to high 11v’s (still dangerously low). So obviously there was a draw on my starter battery from the Renogy controller. Fridge was still running and 2nd battery still had good voltage.
What could be causing this draw from the starter?
The vehicle is a 2007 Toyota 4Runner so it is a traditional alternator. I did NOT connect the Renogy IGN wire (required for smart alternators). The DCDC controller manual states for a traditional alternator it will disconnect the starter batter at 12.7V as to not drain it.

Any ideas what might be causing this drain?
I still have some testing to do after work but the only thing that changed recently was the addition of this solar setup.

My setup is as follows:

Starter Battery: Northstar 100AH AGM Battery
House Battery: Renogy 100AH Lithium w/ Self Heating
Solar Controller/DCDC Charger: Renogy DCDC50A
Solar Panel: Renogy 175w Flexible Solar Panel
Inverter: Renogy 1000w Inverter
Fuse Panel: Blue Sea Fuse Box
Circuit Breakers: Blue Sea Circuit Breakers (assorted sizes)

And here is a diagram of the wiring setup I created:

Any help would be appreciated. I am wondering if the controller is faulty, or if it is “stuck” on smart alternator mode as the cut off for tat is in the 11.5V range I believe.

Attachments

• 99B175F1-7F5F-4601-ACD7-70590D624886.jpeg
    99B175F1-7F5F-4601-ACD7-70590D624886.jpeg
    188.7 KB · Views: 31