diy solar

diy solar

Help with Growatt setting and Octopus Agile tariff (UK)

OldCodger

Newbie here. I just bought a house here in the UK which has a Growatt SPH 3000 system already installed. It is 3kW of panels and 3 kWh of batteries.

I’ve managed to get access to the system via ShinePhone and the web interface at server.growatt.com

I am on the Octopus Agile tariff, which has different prices of electricity for every half hour of the day.

I am trying to set up the system to charge the batteries when electricity is cheap and to discharge them when it is expensive.

Thanks to several posts here I’ve worked out how to set the system to charge from the grid overnight. However what I can’t do is see how to “disconnect” the batteries so they don’t start discharging until 4pm when (for now at least) the rates are much higher.

Is there a combination of settings that will achieve this?

Apologies if this has been answered before, I did search the forum before joining to see if there was a previous solution.

OldCodger - aka Ian

Commenting on my own post, which is bad form I know,but having spent an afternoon researching this - is this something simple? Do I just need to set “Grid First” between 4pm and, say midnight? So I use “all” of the battery capacity.

Not sure how this pans out in sunnier times!

I really am still learning this stuff and I don’t know all the jargon, or how to use it properly!

I can't comment on the Growat - I've got Solis, but I'm on Agile for import and I charge my batteries overnight, use them during the day and if it hasn't been sunny I top them up a bit mid afternoon during the cheapest slot there. Like today there was a cheaper (12.9p) slot between 3pm and 3:30pm. Also for export I'm on Outgoing at a fixed 15p/kWh at all times, so I don't have to export at peak times (although I tend to do that just to help the grid).