diy solar

diy solar

How do I reset a Daly 24v firmware BMS?

Brokeoverland

First off, I am no expert, I built this system based on reading this site and the Victron manuals 4 years ago so there are definitely mistakes in the design.
That said, I have an issue where I have two 24 volt batteries in parallel. Each battery has a Dally 100 amp 24 V 8S BMS and neither are passing current Charge or discharge. Each of the individual cells in both batteries measure between 3.360 to 3.361.

Total battery voltage of each battery measures 26.87 volts before the BMS and nothing on the load side.

These are older BMS’s that have been running for about 4 years now. Attached picture.

I’ve tried to “wake up” or reset the daily BMS by disconnecting the battery from load and connecting P- to B+ for one minute. Tested P- (not attached to load) and there was 3ish volts but I feel that is residual.

I do have two replacement BMS’s on order. But I have questions for this group.

1. Did I just happen to cook 2 BMS’s at the same time? Since these batteries are in parallel I guess could have cooked one previously and just been running off of one battery.
  2. Is there a reset on these (older models with no LEDs) that I’m not aware of?

Bonus points question. If I did cook these BMS’s should I go with a 150amp unit? I have a Victron MultiPlus 24 V | 3000 | 70 amp inverter. Which, according to the documentation pulls 70 amps.

Any pointers or recommendations?
Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_6421.jpeg
    IMG_6421.jpeg
    215.6 KB · Views: 7
Have you tried to jump start each BMS with a 24 VDC power supply over the battery terminals, not the BMS. I did that to wake up a small Daly 24 volt BMS. This was for over discharge.

70 amps refers to how much charging the Multiplus can provide to the batteries, not the total current draw from the batteries.