diy solar

diy solar

How Many kWh Should I See in Real World Conditions?

Sunshine22

Hi Everyone!

I'm a noob and didn't test my 12.8v LiFePO4 batteries individually prior to putting them in series to make a 48v pack. I did individually charge each battery to max and put them in parallel for several days prior to putting them in series. Below is what I'm using:
Growatt SPF 3000TL LVM-ES 3KW
USE2
Bulk 57.5V #19
Float 55V #20
DC Cutoff 46V #21
Batteries - 4 x Zoom 12.8v 200ah LiFePO4 in series

I decided to do a battery capacity test yesterday. I allowed solar to fully charge the battery pack. In the evening (no solar or utility) I plugged a watt meter into an outlet powered by the inverter. I used an old school, oil filled, radiator style space heater to draw power. I ran it on high (~1500 watts) for 1/2 hour then turned it to low (~ 600 watts) for the remainder of the test. The reason I didn't leave it on high is because the Growatt's fans were really screaming, and I didn't want to leave it like that running in my shop overnight.

Results:
This morning (before sunrise) I found the system completely off (no lights, no power). The watt meter showed I used 8.46 kWh. Does that seem right for this system, or do you guys think I may have one or more defective batteries? FYI the temperature in the shop started at 55 degrees and was around 50 degrees this morning. The whole system including the batteries are in the shop.

Thanks!

I'm a little new, but volts multiplied by amps equals watts, watts is actual power.

So my math says your total watt-hours are 10,240 between all four of your batteries.

You have both wires and inverter efficiency that takes some power, plus the inverter itself uses power for operation.