diy solar

diy solar

How to Determine Solar Panel Arrangement

ilaboy

I am new to solar energy solutions, but since power outages have become frequent in my area I have purchase a solar generator. Need some guidance determining the panels arrangement. Per my research I know I need to consider the solar input limits of my generator, in my case a Delta 2 with input limits 11-60V, 15A, 500W max. I know that for panels in series should consider voltage and in parallel current. My confusion is that some say to consider panel’s Vmp and others Voc for voltage, and for current some say consider panel’s Isc and others Imp. Also, other say consider voltage and wattage only, current is normally regulated my the charge controller. Can someone please clarify which specific parameters I should consider for series connection, parallel or series/parallel? If is true that the input current is not that important as voltage in this application? I will appreciate all the detail information that can be provided, since I am a beginner. Thanks in advance.

Without getting into all the details in your post, I see this "solar Generator " has a 1024 wh. capacity. That is 1 kw. Even if all one kw is usable that isn't enough power to cover any significant grid down loads. Before you start spending money on equipment you need to define your critical loads and amount of time you expect to be able to power them.

Does the generator just clip at "500W Max"? or trips a breaker at that point? Some builders are 'over paneling' their systems to get more energy in the morning and evening (solar power hits panels like a normal distribution bell curve, with the inverter clipping off the top of the bell), splitting the group of panels for some face more East, some more West will also pick up more energy am/pm while reducing mid-day where clipping may occur.