diy solar

diy solar

Just got my battery, now what?

ArmyRetired

My (1st) SOK 206Ah battery arrived today. Now what?

I'm a total noob with most things electric and have never dabbled into solar.

My wife and I have a 30 foot RV trailer. The single LA battery is about dead so I decided to replace it. Due to the covid RV surge, it is getting harder to find campground spots without knowing our schedule a year out. That is pushing me to think about boondocking. I'm pretty sure upgrading from the 100Ah LA battery to the 206Ah SOK is a good start.

Step one: need a lithium compatible AC converter. That alone could get us through a long weekend with just DC use from the single SOK. We've got a generator to recharge if necessary, and have used it for our current LA battery. Takes forever.

Step two: but...wouldn't AC power be nice? Now we "need" an inverter. Not planning on running the air conditioners, but normal outlet things would be nice. Not necessarily a hair dryer or microwave, but most other AC appliances. Coffee pot would be nice.

Step three: solar? The ability to be out long enough to fill up waste tanks without plugging in is appealing. This is a future desire.

Watching Will Prowse go through his cool solar videos is inspiring, but I think an all-in-one is probably more my speed. That would cover all three steps above. Now that leads to the next question: 12V or 24V? With only one 12V battery, I'm limited to the first choice. But with the MPP 12V version, AC converter is limited to 20A, and inverter to 800W. The 24V version needs an additional battery, but sounds like it would cover most of my current/future needs.

Additional questions:

1) If I got the 24V MPP all-in-one (and additional 206Ah battery), the AC converter is 60A. Does it have the ability to charge the SOK's at their recommended 50A?

2) How would I use a 24V battery bank to run the 12V RV systems?