diy solar

diy solar

Need help designing a small 4S 12v UPS

dpcman

Hi! I'm pretty new to this whole thing and I'd appreciate some advice on building something that can power my desktop PC during blackouts. At first I considered getting a portable power station like an Ecoflow or Bluetti but I realized I'd get a better bang for my buck if I were to build one on my own plus I don't need the portability and other fancy features.

Power draw from the watt meter is 300w (rounded up) and I'd like it to last 8hrs so that comes to 2.4kwhr. While the blackouts are often, they rarely last more than a day so this is all I need. Can't use solar at the moment since I live in a rented space. With that in mind, this is currently my part list:
  • 4 x EVE LF230 2.3v 230AH
  • JBD BMS 100A w/ bluetooth
  • Pure sine-wave 2000w inverter
That's all I got for now haha. I'll try to formalize my questions:
  1. Many of the inverters I could find locally look dubious at best, is there anything I should look out for? How do I know if an inverter is any good? I should say that I already have a UPS that I will plug into the inverter.
  2. Should I use fuses? How can I calculate what fuse I would need?
  3. I'm planning to charge the battery via the AC wall outlet. What would be the best way to go about this?
  4. Is it possible to plug the battery along with my PC into the wall outlet indefinitely and have the battery kick in when the power goes out? Are there any downsides to that? Since I have a UPS I don't particularly mind manually switching the plug but it would be convenient.
That's all the questions that has me stumped at the moment, thanks for any insight on this.

If you already have a traditional UPS why wouldn't you just use it and expand the battery pack if it has that capability. Many of them do have a connector on the back for Aux battery packs.

As to your specific questions if the above is not feasible.
1) Samlex or AIMS??