diy solar

diy solar

New member with new project : )

socaliguy81

Hello fellow techies!

My name is Travis and my background is in competition car audio and home automation. I'm currently adding some capabilities to my 2016 F150 and the project has ballooned into quite the endeavor thanks to my late night YouTube and Amazon binging. The truck will eventually be used for search and rescue, but also for overlanding with a small off-road camper trailer.

The concept behind the project is to keep the truck as OEM as feasible, while adding significant upgrades in capabilities. So far, here is a list of installed equipment so you can get a sense of my electrical loads...

1. 200A Audio System
2. 214A Inverter/Charger
3. 15A GMRS Radio
4. 15A Running LIghts
5. 10A Strobe Lights
6. 10A Fridge/Freezer
7. 10A approximately in additional audio accessories, solenoids, thermal video system, etc.
Total added potential MAX load: 474 Amps

I started with a Singer Alternator 290Idle/340Peak alternator and a trio of Optima Yellow Tops. I chose the Yellow Tops due to personal experience with them in high heat applications. Since this project is in the Palm Springs area, I expect the battery boxes to reach in excess of 140F which would render most Lithium options useless. I'm using an OEM style replacement under the hood and a pair of D34/78s for a decent 110Ah combined. There is a 500A Victron SmartShunt on each aux battery as they are mounted in separate enclosures. The SmartShunts are monitoring the main battery voltage and the aux battery temps, as well as the usage of the aux batteries.