diy solar

diy solar

Newbie. Input needed on a pole barn solar build.

guito13

Hi Everyone & Thank you in advance for any input. Please understand that I am a newbie and if I get terminology wrong I do apologize. Please be gentle!

I currently have a small setup that I have played around with for a year or so. I recently had a 60x40 pole barn built and I would like to at least have part of it (lighting / garage door opener / couple freezers or fridge and maybe a bit more) running on solar. I will probably eventually tie it to the grid to run some more energy hungry tools and such.

As far as supplies:

- I have a 60A solar charger which I think should suffice.
- I have 2x125w panels and i plan to get at least 2 maybe 4 more
- I currently have 1 LIPO4 100AH battery
- I have a 3000w / 6000w Peak inverter (PS1004-NP GoWise)

Right now I have 3 questions but would appreciate any additional thoughts as well:

1) I want to have a breaker box setup. I assume my current convert is not going to work for that application. Assuming I want to eventually be at a 50AMP system what Inverter would you recommend?
2) How many additional batteries would you go with?
3) I think I want to mount the panels on a post next to the barn. Reason is I am in MI and want to be able to easily get to them to wipe off snow during the winter.

I will update my main post here as recommendations come in.

Update 1: Assume goal is a 15KWH per day setup

Thank you in advance for your input!

Last edited:
First step is to make a formal wish list of items that will be on system and include how many Watts each requires and how many hours per day they will operate so you can calculate kWh needs.

Then the system is sized based on the above.

First step is to make a formal wish list of items that will be on system and include how many Watts each requires and how many hours per day they will operate so you can calculate kWh needs.

Then the system is sized based on the above.
Thank you for the reply!