diy solar

diy solar

Novice Questions About Complex Multi-Array, Multi-Inverter, ESS Implementation

6Bridges

Hi Folks, this is my first time posting. I have read a bunch of postings and it is clear there are some very experienced people on this forum. I had some basic questions I wanted to pass by some experienced practitioners regarding the target equipment I am considering for my installation.

I apologize in advance for the length of the posting. If you want to jump right to the questions without the background, please scroll to the scenarios described at the bottom of this posting.

Here is the background…

I am a computer scientist by training, and a solar enthusiast due to my desire to be resilient in the face of the increasing risks of climate change. I am not concerned about an armageddon, but I am interested in keeping the buildings on my property including my currently being built high-performance (built to Passive House standards), all electric (no fossil fuels) house operating when the grid is down for 10 days due to an ice storm and there is little to no PV production due to cloudy conditions.

When I purchased my property in 2022 it came equipped with a roof-mounted array on the barn made up of 61 modules each rated at 300 watt DC for a total of 18.3kW DC. This array is connected to two Fronius Inverters (8.2kW AC watts and 6kW AC watts) for a total AC output of 14.2kW. The current system has no batteries.

My goal is to install an energy management system based on Savant Power Systems solution. Although their website now shows different tech (Savant purchased POMCube), their solution historically utilized Sol-Ark inverters, HomeGrid batteries, and the Savant Power Modules, which allow for software-controlled load centers. Since they use Sol-Ark inverters, they can also accommodate a backup generator in the solution. I will be using the Sol-Ark/HomeGrid version of the Savant solution.