diy solar

diy solar

Off grid balancing using bulb to drain runner cell

Jesshaines

I'm trying to manage an out of balance pack. While living off grid.

I've come across a couple suggestions here and on the off-grid garage YouTube channel of basically using a light bulb to drain a single cell that's running.

Sorry, total noob! Can someone give a few more details of how actually to do this?

One person suggested a car headlight bulb. Does it matter that my cells are 3.2 volt nominal? Won't the headlight bulb be calibrated to run off 12 volts? Or maybe it will just shine dimly with the lower power supply....?

Also, do I need to worry about polarity of bulb matching cell when using this method?

Any help input suggestions welcome. Thank you

An incandescent light bulb is just a resistor, only it gives off both light and heat, not just heat. You can put any voltage to them and they'll take it, however if you put too high a voltage they will overheat. (You have the opposite problem)
Headlight bulbs may not be simple resistors though, they can be all sorts of technology.
How much power do you need to drain from your cell to get it down to where the others are? Specifically, how many Ah is the cell and how many volts high is it?

BMS image attached...

Simple answer is, not sure...

Longer answer is -

Basically I started at my system about a week ago. Cell number 8 was starting to run at about 70 to 75% state of charge. I've been managing by simply turning off the breaker to my panels when I need to be away all day and can't monitor the system.

I have a heltech active balancer I haven't connected yet as I've been researching and learning how that works.

The system was at about 60% state of charge when I left yesterday and I chose to leave the panels off, partly as an experiment. They've mostly had around 001 volts deviation at that state of charge.

I came home to higher deviation, around .03 volts which I didn't expect and 55% state of charge.