diy solar

diy solar

Power factor correction & Bluetti AC500 - am I screwed?

ForestBaker

Hello! I'm new at this stuff and would love some advice on whether I'm going to have issues with "power factor correction" when using the 120V/50amp outlets on the Bluetti AC500's.

My plan was to power 2 trailers on our remote property with the following setup (I've already purchased all of this):
  • 2 Bluetti AC500 inverters
  • 7 Bluetti 300S batteries
  • 3K watts of solar power
Each trailer is being built with 120v appliances. And, if everything is turned on at the same time, each trailer will draw about a max of 30amps and 3,000 watts. In addition, we've got outlets people can plug their personal stuff into, so those could add up to 20amps more and whatever watts they require.

I was going to run long cables from the two trailers to the AC500s (housed in a shed) and plug them into the 120V/50A RV outlets.

However, I was just warned that because the AC500 is only pushing out 120V (I guess the normal is 240V for RV outlets), I might have issues with "power factor correction". And this could cause the following:
  • Some appliances, like the mini split, not turn on or shut off
  • This will cause more heat in the cables/wiring and wear out the appliances faster (sounds kinda scary)
I was told to consider:
  • Scrapping the entire Bluetti system (ouch!) and go with inverters that can push 240v to each trailer
  • Look into incorporating "ferrite b, passive" hardware that might reduce the power factor issue
  • Use 3 separate 120v/20amp outlets on the AC500 to power each trailer, instead of the single120v/50amp outlet. We haven't built the panels on the trailers yet, so this could be an option.
What do you guys think? Is the power factor correction going to be a problem that I need to solve for? If so, what would you do?

Thanks in advance!

Forest

Screenshot 2023-01-20 091049.jpg

Last edited: