diy solar

diy solar

Powering an underwater fishing light

Baylor805

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I am new to the off grid/solar/battery world so take it easy on me. I am considering buying an underwater fishing light for the family ranch to use off the dock at night and do not have a power source close enough to plug the light in so that leaves me to my idea of running off of a 12v battery. The light that I am looking at is rated on the website to draw 12.5amps/hour. I would assume that I would need a 12v 100ah car or deep cycle marine battery to power the light for 8 hours. Ideally I would only use the light for 1-4 hours when I am out there about twice a month.

Here is what I was thinking as far as the set up:
-12v 100ah battery (suggestions?)
-Fishing light
- solar charge controller (suggestions?)
- Solar panel (Suggestions on size/brand?)
- on/off switch to light
- inline fuse to light from battery (incase the light leaked/got wet)

Underwater light:

Keep in mind I am trying to keep the cost down as much as possible, yet have enough power to keep the light running as bright as possible. Understand there will be some trade off on different options.

Thanks in advance! Any help/feedback is welcomed.

I would get 2X cheap 6V golf cart batteries from Sams/Costco. They're pretty much the best value for capacity.

That will get you 200ah of capacity with half of it usable - a true 8 hours without damaging batteries.

Assuming a 4hr use, that's 4h * 12.5A * 12V = 600Wh. A single 100W panel and cheap PWM controller can probably get you by if you don't use it 3 days in a row. 200W would knock it out, so:

$180 in batteries
$142 in panels
$16 for a charge controller

You could get away with less battery and 1 panel if you really have to go on the cheap.

Thanks @snoobler , I was able to find a heck of a deal on 50watt solar panels so I can wire them in parallel, if needed. What do you mean 200w would knock it out?