diy solar

diy solar

Powerurus Battery not charging from solar panel

MargoW

My battery does not seem to be charging from the solar panel. When I plug the camper in, the onboard battery monitor shows me charging the battery to 100%. But when I disconnect from shore power, the available power shows a steady decline, even on sunny days. I’ve tested this over several days with no load put on the battery, and I’m now down to 69% capacity according to both the RoyPow and Epoch apps. The Epoch app shows a Fault “Full CHG Prot” but IDK what that means and can’t find any documentation on it.

The Victron app shows the panel putting out 7-8W, 32-35V and .2A. These are taken on a sunny day with the panel clean, in full sun around noon. The Victron shows the battery in “float” state, even though the battery is only at 70%.

Can anyone suggest where the problem might be or how I might test for it? I’m a newbie at this, but I do have a multimeter :)

Battery: Powerurus 100 AH LiPo
Solar: 210W, 32V, 6.56A
Victron SmartSolar controller, 75/15

The Victron battery settings are: Battery voltage: 12V, charger enabled, max charge current 15A, Absorption voltage 14.6V, Float voltage 13.5V, Equalization voltage 14.4V

The 4 battery cells are balanced (3.322v, 3.323v,3.325,3.324)
IMG_3955.PNG

IMG_3954.PNG

The Epoch app shows a Fault “Full CHG Prot”

Your battery isn’t charging because it’s in protection mode. If you look closer, you’ll see the Charge MOS is turned “off”.

What charge controller are you using and what are it’s charging settings?

Your battery isn’t charging because it’s in protection mode. If you look closer, you’ll see the Charge MOS is turned “off”.

What charge controller are you using and what are it’s charging settings?

The Victron battery settings are: Battery voltage: 12V, charger enabled, max charge current 15A, Absorption voltage 14.6V, Float voltage 13.5V, Equalization voltage 14.4V