diy solar

diy solar

PV over voltage

ian.blackshaw

Hi
I am new to Solar, and have taken the plunge to fit an off grid solar system to my house. (3kw Hybrid inverter, 2700w pv. 24v Lifep04 100ah battery. supplying max 12a load circuit. )0.5 - 1.5a base load with occasional heating and motor loads from dishwasher, washing machine etc. ( one high load unit active only)
In general all seems to be well other than:-
I seem to have an issue relatively frequently where according to the monitoring software (Smart ESS) the PV input Voltage goes OVER VOLTAGE and de-energises the screen PV "ON" status.
When I visit the Inverter the PV input seems to be ok, also The battery BMS shows Battery charge from PV source.
I don't know if I am getting a physical voltage excess blip from the panels which is correcting itself before I can check it or something else.
Any ideas would be welcome
Thanks

Since it's cool/cold now, your panels may be indeed running at higher voltage. Check your panels' spec for temperature coefficient. Are the over-volt events usually in the early morning hours ?

You need some way to monitor constantly. Not just when you visit the inverter and look at the display and try and catch a blip in the voltage readout.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230214-073740.png
    Screenshot_20230214-073740.png
    111.7 KB · Views: 5
Last edited:
Would you give your panels Voc and how you have them connected? Also need the specs for the hybrid inverter.

Would you give your panels Voc and how you have them connected? Also need the specs for the hybrid inverter.
agreed, the SCC of the hybrid inverter has a VOC limit.

How do you have the panels connected, 4S2P? It might be a simple fix to make it 3S2P (yeah you lose two panels but way better than blowing the SCC)

agreed, the SCC of the hybrid inverter has a VOC limit.

How do you have the panels connected, 4S2P? It might be a simple fix to make it 3S2P (yeah you lose two panels but way better than blowing the SCC)