diy solar

diy solar

Pylontech 5000 batteries GOOD or BAD??

FlyingScot

Well planning on installing a battery system and met a few clowns one today was rather upsetting.

So here is what I have and what I want to do

I HAVE 3.75Kw of solar 15 250W panels with Solar Edge Optimisers and a Solar Edge HD Wave inverter. (that was a TFU installation by total cowboys the only good thing was that it included workmanship insurance which I did have to claim on :-(

I WANT to run the house on Battery Power (As I build solar systems for yachts in the Caribbean and about 7 years ago built my own LifePO4 600Ah House bank using LifePO4 Prismatic Cells designing and installing the whole system myself and being a multidisciplined engineer I am for sure not a numpty.)

Today I got treated like one :-(

SO my plan was to put in what would become a hybrid system. My preferred batteries are going to be the Pylontech 5000 and initially I will just charge them with my existing Solar and Octopus off-peak energy phase 2 eventually I am going to put as much solar on the roof (now a 15/20 degree flat pitched roof) of my just about to be built garage that should give me initially 30 sqm and with the attached car port another 30 sqm for probably a DC system with VICTRON ENERGY MPPT controllers feeding the house system.

I was going to use a Solis AC inverter charger but being a VICTRON ENERGY guy I thought I could use a Victron MultiPlus-II 48V/10000VA/140A-100/100/230V Inverter Charger with three inputs two AC one from the grid (off-peak) and one from my solar and one DC from the new solar on top of the garage (there is no room on the house roof for a decent amount of new solar)

NOW this morning I had a highly recommended solar installer come to see me (recommended by the local solar wholesale supplier)