diy solar

diy solar

Recommendation for powering network gear

JustinLacy

This is my first attempt at doing something with solar. My driveway is about 1500' long, with a gate at the entrance. I want to have a couple of video cams near the gate. My plan is to extend my LAN by installing a wireless bridge near the gate. I'm trying to figure out how to power this stuff 24/365. A lot of what follows is my uneducated guessing, so let me know where I'm going astray.

I haven't decided on the bridge or security cams, but assume the total power consumption for them is 50 watts, so about 1200wh per day. I assume the hardware will be running at or near this level of power consumption continuously. I live south of Houston TX, and the equipment location has good southern exposure. I don't have a gate opener. If I get one, I will power it with a separate battery/panel in order to keep the network stuff simple.

If I get a 100ah 12V LiFePO4 battery, I could run this stuff for maybe 20 hours without recharging, so I need a solar array that can provide an additional 200wh to make up for what the battery can't cover, plus enough power to fully charge the battery every day. I don't expect 100% uptime, but there are often times where there will be fairly heavy cloud cover for four or five days in a row. Does that mean I need four or five of these batteries (and a solar array big enough to recharge them in a day) to ensure 95% uptime? That seems like a lot to power less than the equivalent of a medium size incandescent light bulb.

What am I missing here?

Thanks,
JL

300W of solar favorably tilted to a winter-weighted tilt of 45° due south in Houston:

1663282530703.png

You multiply the solar radiation values by your panel wattage. On average, 300W would produce > 1200Wh/day (all values are > 4).

400W with a 40A charge controller should guarantee near 100% up time unless you have extended inclement weather.