diy solar

diy solar

Renogy 100 Watt 6v panels - really

fwunder

I know this may seem strange and I am just a beginner trying to learn, but why would my 200 watt Eclipse suitcase panels be made up of two 100 watt 6v panels? Or rather, maybe it's 4 50 watt panels in parallel/series?

First clue should have been label on one of the panels. See below. Label still doesn't make sense to me. Renogy offers no explanation so far.

Second clue was what sure looks like series connection between panels. This was a mystery. 2 100 Watt panels which look to be hooked in series, but deliver ~20v open circuit voltage. That didn't make sense. I opened the PV junction box thinking maybe there was some kind of shunting going on to make parallel connection. Nope. Straight series and voltage output at each junction box measured ~10 volts! 32 cell, 100 watt 6 volt panels. Seems very, very, strange!!

Does this make any sense? Thanks!

IMG_1633.jpeg

IMG_1617.jpeg
IMG_1639.jpeg
IMG_1635.jpeg

It is definitely two 6V panels. Bypass diodes are about ever 10V open circuit.. It saves the number of connections that have to be made. Same construction as a full panel.

Thanks for confirming. I wish I knew that when I spent so much money on them. I was hoping to use them as two 12v panels in series w/MPPT controller for longer run from panels to controller. Seems odd that the suitcase is sold as "Two 100 watt Eclipse Solar Panels". I'm guessing most newbies like me would assume two 12v panels. Buyer beware, I guess. Thanks.

The label you show is an optimum operation, 18 volt panel with 2 x 2.78 amps. Volts are different than amps.

Thanks Zil. I get that. Seems like an odd label for a 100 watt panel or 200 watt suitcase. The dimensions alone don't match the panel(s). Thanks.