diy solar

diy solar

Renogy blown inline 10a fuse - what happened ?

st1650

Total newbie here, I bought the Renogy 4x 100w kit with 40a MPPT kit for RV before doing actual proper research, wasn't aware how bad these products are.

I had the local RV shop do the install, they set it up to code so I feel like it was installed properly, they installed the 150 aH lifepo battery inside, along with my 2500w pure sin inverter, put in the breaker, etc.

For a week it worked perfectly. The trailer is parked in the sun and was keeping the battery fully charged to 14.5V

Then we had a couple days of rain, then more sun and I came back to the trailer today so do some test and the battery was dead.

I trickled charged the battery back up to 13v so the MPPT controller would come back to life but it wasn't taking a charge from the panels.

I started testing a bunch of different things and then went on the roof, I saw that the positive lead has a MC4 10amp fuse so I took it off and saw that the fuse was dead. I swapped it with another 10A MC4 fused connector that I have for my portable 100w renogy and everything came back to life.

I also checked the MPPT controller setting for LI battery and saw that the default settings are not good, so I updated them per the guide on one of the thread here.

Now the question is, what could have blown this 10a fuse ? Should I try a 30amp inline fuse instead ? It never got above 25C so I doubt it was the heat.

This is roughly how its setup but with 4 panels instead of 4, the fuse is installed after the Y branch connectors

Attachments

• _01__55702.jpg
    _01__55702.jpg
    157.4 KB · Views: 7
4x 100w kit with 40a MPPT kit for RV ..... Doesn't say much. Are the panels in series, parallel or combination. 100W panels won't put out much more than 5A. Many RV are in parallel because of potential shading. We often hire professionals who don't really know more.

parallel configuration - pretty much like this one:

Attachments

• diag2.png