diy solar

diy solar

Rv solar design questions?

stevbross

Sorry for the long post in advanced. Newbie here. I'm attempting to plan a split phase 50amp rv build. The rv runs off mostly 12vdc with 50a split phase shore power. I plan on using 2 victron inverters and equipment to power new system. The question I have is running it on 12v or 24v or 48v (can you run 2 inverters on 12v)? As of right now my 12v loads are constant 50 to 60 amps with a need for a surge to about 150a when running the jacks and slides, for only a few minutes. On the ac side I would like to be able to run 2 13k airconditioners and various other things. The problem I'm having is if I use the higher voltages I have to convert back to 12v at 160amps or have a separate 12v battery with separate charging of about 70amps to cover my loads which adds complexity, inefficiency and money. I understand cable sizing for using higher voltage but converting back and forth voltage is also a problem. Also which inverters should I use multiplus2 2x120 3000va or a multiplu 2 5000va if using 48v? Thankyou for your input.

Either go 12v or 48v.

When an air conditioner has a Micro aire EZ start it will run off a Victron 12/3000 inverter. The problem is how long…

I have a 544ah 12v lithium battery and can run the air conditioner for about one hour - then I either need to stop or start the generator. (On a full battery to start with and some solar - that will leave me enough power to get through the night). So you will need a massive battery bank to run them for any length of time.

If you go with 12v - look at the Multiplus II 12/3000 2x120v - (unless you have something that is 240v). You would put two in parallel. Then if you are not needing both air conditioners, you have the option of changing the configuration and turning the second one off to save watts.

Good Luck