diy solar

diy solar

RV solar help

Bobs84

I've been looking through your site and watching your channel. Haven't found the right schematic for an Rv.
I have a "solar prepped" RV. Which just means they've pre run wires from roof through the walls to a central location.
My question is looking for a schematic to follow for setup that wont harm a solar system when connected to shore power or running my genny. RV has automatic transfer switch when connected.

Thanks for any help

First, I am not an expert, especially when it comes to Motorhomes.

But I believe it should be as simple as connecting PV panels to one end of the prewired wiring, connecting an MPPT charge controller to the other end, and wiring your MPPT charge controller to your house battery bank. Definitely don't take my word for it, but I don't think its much more complicated than the basic schematics Will has on his website.

Here is an article on adding Solar to your RV from AltE solar which is a pretty good source for entry level DIY solar info.

Pacific Yacht Systems (which is Marine centric, but most of the info is relevant to RV's too) is a good resource as well

And I would definitely reccomend looking in your Motorhomes user manual or technical documentation, or contacting the company. Since your RV is "solar prepped" I bet they have instructions or guidance on how to properly add solar to your electrical system.

Which RV do you have? I suspect different models vary in their "solar readiness" and configuration.

What model is your onboard charge controller? This is the key piece.

As I understand it, lots of the RV's that call themselves solar ready do not have an onboard SCC. It just denotes that the wiring has been run from the roof to some interior location, and doesn't actually include a controller.