diy solar

diy solar

RV system recommendations?

SomebodyInGNV

Hello. I'm a newbie and am accumulating material for a solar system on my travel trailer. I have an EPEver Triron 4215N MPPT controller, a QWork battery monitor, a cable entry plate with integrated MC4 connectors and 1' stub of 10AWG wire, plenty of 10AWG wire on a roll, and about 15' of 8AWG wire. None of the wire is UV-rated. I'll get appropriate cable, bus bars, breakers, fuses and other hardware as the need arises. I own a crimping tool.

My main goal right now is obtaining panels. The unobstructed and unshaded area on the roof is about 10' x 8'. Panels could be a little longer but the ends would be getting into a area where they might be shaded. They will be mounted flat and we frequently camp in the shade, so it seems like I should over-panel? I'd like at least 12" and prefer 18" of walk space down the middle of the roof. I'd like to install all panels once rather than install some now and expand later. I prefer panels with MC4 connectors so I don't have to do anything except attach them to the roof and plug them in.

I'm here looking for recommendations for sources of panels, suggestions as to specific panels to buy, and the recommended series/parallel configuration. Local solar installers aren't interested in selling to me. I have no qualms about recycled panels from reputable vendors. I live in Florida, so shipping from out west may be prohibitive. Specs for the controller are below. Further details are in link above.

Rated Charge Current
40A
Rated Charge Power
520W/12V
Max. PV Array Power
1560W/12V
Max. PV open circuit voltage
92V