diy solar

diy solar

Solar Array Setup Questions

717micah

I’m new to off-grid solar systems and need help determining if 1) all the components I currently have are compatible for building my electric system 2) what would be the best solar panel array to start with for around $1000 that would also leave potential for adding more panels and batteries to the system in the future, bearing in mind the panels will be mounted on top of a Skoolie and 3) need advice on the safest and most efficient way to set it all up… Any assistance is greatly appreciated 🙂

2 - Redodo 12V 200Ah PLUS Lithium LiFePO4 Batteries with Max 2560W Power Output & 200A BMS Protection

SunGoldPower Hybrid Solar Inverter Charger 3000W DC 24V Pure Sine Wave Inverter / 80A MPPT Solar Charger / 40A AC Battery Charger
3000 watt 24 volt pure sine wave inverter

Westinghouse 4500 Peak Watt / 3900 Running Watt Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator

Last edited:
Also, can you provide a link to this unit? A 24V/3kW inverter with a 9kW 20 second surge is uncommon.

Also note the 50W idle draw. That's 1.2kWh/day. The energy produced by one of those 250W panels is consumed by the inverter itself - just powering its own circuit making AC power available - even if it's not used.

Not compatible.

4 of those panels will not provide the minimum 120V "MPPT voltage range"

You need at least six, preferably more and no more than 14 of those panels in series on that MPPT.
Thanks for your reply. I edited my post to more accurately describe what I’m working with. The solar panels are actually the only thing I don’t have. Ive been considering the Newpowa 250v but haven’t pulled the trigger on them.

Also, can you provide a link to this unit? A 24V/3kW inverter with a 9kW 20 second surge is uncommon.

Also note the 50W idle draw. That's 1.2kWh/day. The energy produced by one of those 250W panels is consumed by the inverter itself - just powering its own circuit making AC power available - even if it's not used.