diy solar

diy solar

solar chimney retrofit

rccapps

My question isn't PV-related, so I apologize if this is the wrong forum to post it in.

Our manufactured home has a small pseudo-attic space with four squat vents thru the roof and no access from the inside. Despite installation of reflective roof panels (as well as the aforementioned vents), this space still traps a lot of heat in the Texas summer, much of which seeps into the living space below.

Replacing at least one or two of the short and ineffective vents with solar chimneys appeals to me as a relatively simple fix. However, I have no experience with them, merely an understanding of the general principles involved. Would wedging a screened and capped-off length of black stove-pipe thru the vent hole(s) work well enough? If so, how tall should they be for a reasonable amount of draw? Any other design considerations I should be aware of? Also, any "RTFM" replies with relevant resource links/references (books, websites, etc) would be welcome.

Thanks in advance,
Rob

Have to love attics...I too have been battling with one too (blog), but for humidity/mold rather than heat.

I doubt you need to go to such trouble to "fix" your attic, most likely the problem is clogged or insufficient air-intakes. Insulation on the attic flooring would probably do wonders too. I like your idea about the black pipe to absorb more energy, spray painting the current vents "black" to make them start pulling air sooner might be a good idea.

But the attic might not be the real problem because the attic is small - so keeping it cooler won't help much. The real issue could be heat coming through the rest of the roof. It depends on if the attic covers the entire ceiling space or if most of the house has vaulted ceilings (for example my mother-in-law's small attic sits over the hall/bathrooms, the rest of the house has vaulted ceilings, that is the roof deck is one rafter from the ceiling).