diy solar

diy solar

Solar for RV

Captmaddog

I have a 2013 Itasca Meridian 34B motor-home that I am wanting to use solar power for dry camping. It has a 6 battery (group 31 AGM) bank that runs everything but the air conditioning units. Almost everything on this motor-home is electric. Fridge is residential electric fridge. Only gas is the stove and furnace. I can run everything on 30 amp plug in including 1 A/C. My question is how much solar panels would I need to keep the batteries charge and would I go directly into the Inverter/Charger or connect up directly to the batteries with an additional controller? Any help is appreciated as I am completely new to solar. Also Probably should say I have a 2800 watt inverter installed and an automatic dual battery charge with the inverter.

Last edited:
First you need to find out how many amps are pulled at one time? Or watts? That will tell you where to start as far as the inverter you will need, then the battery storage that you will need and the the solar panels that you will need to charge the batteries. If you go with just the 30 amp info, you will need 3600 watt inverter at least, then you will need to know what is the start up amps or in rush of amps to start things like the AC.

As mentioned, 30a of shore power is 3600W of power...
A power audit is the fancy term to describe figuring out what you want to run, and how much power it needs..
Things to think about;
- do you want/need to run the A/C? (thats a biggie)
- what about a microwave or toaster?

without those loads, you really don't need much to keep up with the fridge.
I have a 12v compressor fridge in my RV, it draws about 1000Wh per day, according to my battery monitor. (Do you have one of those? inexpensive ones can be purchased on Amazon for ~$100. This may go a long way to help you figure out how many panels you need.)