diy solar

diy solar

Solar panels not producing.

Wrivera

Hello,

I am outside of Phoenix, AZ, and my solar panels are set at approximately 23 degrees facing south.

I have 3 strings of 9 400W bifacial panels (for up to 495W). Each string wired and in series. Newly installed.

I have 2 6000xp off-grid inverters.

When reading the inverters during the day the most I have seen coming in on any of the strings is 700W/h. It is more typical to see only 100 to 160W/h per string vs. (9×400w=3600w/h) I could potentially be seeing per string.

What could be the issue? I washed the panels so they are not dirty and it certainly hasn't been cloudy lately. I am pretty stumped...

I am not an expert in any means I have only a very basic understanding of how this stuff works.

For a little additional information I am constantly seeing 300+V per string. The panels have an 38 VOC so seems pretty in line with what I should seeing.

Attachments

• 20240601_183935.jpg
    20240601_183935.jpg
    648.9 KB · Views: 9
The power from the PV will be dependent on the load and the battery's ability to accept charge (or charge limits set on the inverter). Is there a sufficient load? You'll see the PV voltage go up when the PV power is limited by the load (when not operating at the maximum power point).

The power from the PV will be dependent on the load and the battery's ability to accept charge (or charge limits set on the inverter). Is there a sufficient load? You'll see the PV voltage go up when the PV power is limited by the load (when not operating at the maximum power point).
That makes sense. I have a very limited load on it right now. Pretty much just shop lights.

I am trying to test my heat pump central air but I am also trying to troubleshoot that currently as well. (Power isn't making it to my air handler)

But I am also having trouble with it charging my battery bank as well. The batteries are shown on the inverters but they are not sending any current to charge.