diy solar

diy solar

Solar Sea Kayak

Obi wan

Over the last few years I've been tinkering with my sea kayak by adding an electric trolling motor, marine battery, Renogy 160 watt marine solar panel Victron 75/15 MPPT charge controller. I rebuilt the 28lb thrust Minn Kota trolling motor with a higher efficiency prop and replaced the old resistor speed selector with a pulse width modulation speed controller. I build a tiny console with the variable resistor to the PWM unit and added a power meter for keeping track of my battery's power consumption in the cockpit. I keep upgrading its components every chance I get and now I trying to build a large lithium battery to replace the marine deep cycle lead acid battery. Learning from Will on which batteries would be affordable and provide better range beyond my current configuration. 15.JPG

Very nice!
I have a couple of sea kayaks and I've been musing about doing something like that for a few years as well.
How about providing some more details? I'd be interested in knowing; what does your motor draw (before and after mods), how far can you go on a charge? I guess it's like an ebike - it all depends on how much you help.
Seems like a good application - it's summer, the sun is high, and there's no shade.
And if there's shade you've got bigger problems!

Very nice!
I have a couple of sea kayaks and I've been musing about doing something like that for a few years as well.
How about providing some more details? I'd be interested in knowing; what does your motor draw (before and after mods), how far can you go on a charge? I guess it's like an ebike - it all depends on how much you help.
Seems like a good application - it's summer, the sun is high, and there's no shade.
And if there's shade you've got bigger problems!