diy solar

diy solar

Solark 15K and different batteries

Kassi205

I am having a 9KW system with a solark 15 k installed. I have 30kw of Eg4 V2 batteries being installed. I am considering adding more batteries and am told I should ad Homegrid batteries. Can you mix battery brands like that if they are both the same chemistry?

I am having a 9KW system with a solark 15 k installed. I have 30kw of Eg4 V2 batteries being installed. I am considering adding more batteries and am told I should ad Homegrid batteries. Can you mix battery brands like that if they are both the same chemistry?
The EG4 s are fine.
Why the Homegrid recommendation?

I would just add more Eg4s.

Yes you can run them together as long as it’s not closed Comms.

@Nobodybusiness, thank you for responding. I am a novice, so I hired a solar installer to do my job. The Solar installer is saying I should use the home grid but I already have the 30KW EG4 V2 ready to be installed so he suggested adding home grid instead of more EG4. Mine is the first job he is doing with EG4. I suspect he is just more comfortable with the Homegrid and may make more profit but they do look like something I could add new modules to myself without bothering with him later so I am curious now.

I would choose one battery whether or not you will be doing battery communication since it appears the 15k can communicate with a battery:

"The Sol-Ark 15K-2P-N inverter achieves battery communications through a single RJ-45 port labeled “Battery CANBus”. This port combines the Modbus andCAN bus pin configurations shown below. Both “Modbus RS485” and “Battery CANBus” ports are capable of Modbus communication."

When I look at the spec sheets both batteries are both close enough spec wise, but the price of the EG4 is less.