diy solar

diy solar

SolarSystemDesigner.com - website for designing and visualizing pv systems

solarsystemdesigner

Hello - new to the forum. I started building a pv system, and after making some mistakes, I put on my programmer hat and made a website that I hope would help others to avoid the same. On solarsystemdesigner you can set your system size, voltage, panel type and battery type. It will dynamically create a system of arbitrary size showing all of the electrical connections. Because I'm relatively new to this, I would appreciate feedback on the site, especially if there's anything I got wrong. If you have a chance, take a look at solarsystemdesigner.com - any feedback would be appreciated! Oh of course it's completely free.

Last edited:
To be frank, you haven't achieved even a minimal level of function. Whatever mistakes you may have made, your website output would allow a great number of mistakes.

Why only 4 panels size choices?
Why assume a panel has specific voltage and watts AND have them be wrong (you can't apply your "75%" to your output)?
Why only put two panels in series with 15 strings in parallel?
Where are the fuses/breakers/PV disconnects?
Why would you show an inverter connected to the load port of a charge controller. This is NEVER done.
Why insist on using 12V batteries?

IMHO, the output is completely useless and is likely to lead a beginner horribly astray forcing them to make multiple rookie mistakes.

Good luck.

Why limit the 48v batteries to 200ah, 304ah cells are easily availble and it would be easy for someone to do 16s2p or more. Some folks go completly nuts. Better to ask if the have ready made or diy then if diy allow entry in the format of #s#p and allow entry of cell size verse a drop down or you will forever be updating it.

For panels asks how many or calculate it from other bits. For mppt ask a brand and have specs on the popular ones. Then calculate optimal setup... and sub-optimal and let uses choose.