diy solar

diy solar

Suppose I want a 12v 100 AH battery w/o bms. Have any recommendations

Buy raw cells and DIY your own pack. Top balance them, don't drain them too low, and don't charge about 13.8V and you might be fine for a long time. I have a 50AH 12V pouch cell pack from JAG35 that I've been running BMS-less for almost 2 years now. I do have a balancing charger that ensures all the cells are charged to the same level. The most I've run the battery down is ~ 65%.

I can be done despite many doomsayers.
Our 4 cell 300Ah Sinopoly LiFePO4 motorhome/engine starting battery has survived 10 years of fulltime travel without any inbuilt BMS circuitry.

My "BMS":
No charging source exceeds 14.1V at the battery terminals at which point the battery pack is always 100% SOC without any absorption time regardless of my usual charging currents according to both the series installed Victron and Junctek shunt based battery monitors.
75A alternator, 50A solar and rarely used 30A mains powered battery charger.
20% SOC loud alarm and Victron BatteryProtect 12.5V disconnect. Never triggered in day to day use.

Unlike apparently hundreds of fellow forum users cell balancing has never proved necessary for the last 10 years. Sure I occasionally check but again despite being informed multiple times that cell capacities will drift excessively they have not, well at least for my battery or the 280Ah EVE battery that I paralleled about 18 months ago.
I have observed up to a c40mV deviation on the odd occasion but as a test a few years ago forcing all cells to within 1mv required a few seconds at 30A. Certainly no useful energy added to any cell.
I'm almost convinced that sometimes perfect cell balance is perhaps just a psychological satisfaction thing?

Forcing the battery to 14.5V about a year ago. Near enough for me.
I must check again soon.

Click to enlarge.

Attachments

• 47641-202301 Sinopoly Balance.jpg
    47641-202301 Sinopoly Balance.jpg
    142.2 KB · Views: 6