diy solar

diy solar

Total novice, need some guidance for small system

TFoil

Hi everyone

Just looking for some guidance and advice for a system that I have most parts for. I will be helping with the system but had no involvement in the purchases.

Parts thus far:
2x Risen 450W panels
2x Ecoworthy 25.6V 100Ah LFP batteries
Victron 100-20 MPPT charge controller

From some other bits of advice I've read I used the MPPT calculator on Victron's site and it looks like the controller might be too small if the panels are put in series.
*At his point it will basically just store charge and be used to recharge some devices. Kind of a proof of concept stage.
Eventually it should shoulder some backup duties.
But for now, can someone make some recommendations in terms of additional components I need to get things up & running?
Expanding solar input and battery capacity won't be happening in the near future unless perhaps massive price drops and/or technology developments.
Sorry if I'm not providing the required info, new to this, just let me know what I'm leaving out.
Basically just want to be able to have this system safely charge these batteries.
Looking at putting panels in parallel to remove any max voltage issue with the Victron.
Distance of Victron to panels will be 30 feet max. From Victron to batteries, under 5 feet. Some cabling was ordered and should be arriving within the next week or 2 but I have no specs on it.
Should the batteries be in series or parallel...and is that choice influenced by whether the panels are in series or parallel?

Any guidance and advice will be very much appreciated!

Basically just want to be able to have this system safely charge these batteries.
Wire to connect everything.

If you actually want to use the power, then you might want fuses, power distribution panel, etc.

Note:
The Victron is capable of 12/24/48v.
The battery is 24v (25.6v) in parallel, or 48v (51.2v) in series.