diy solar

diy solar

Newbie Help - Putting together a small system

OzSteve

Hi all,

I'm really new to this, I have a Bluetti AC180 but want to build a small system to run a full sized fridge/TV/Lights at home. Not mobile
My issue is, wiring and what level of product (like MPPT and so on)
Here is what I am thinking:

2x 200Ah Lifepo4 batteries (I can run 2 in series, or 4 in parallel, what's better? or would I need 2x 300Ah?)
Renogy 2000w Pure Sine Wave Inverter Charger
upto 1kW of solar panels (and again, need to know what panels I can use)
Looking at a Victron MPPT (just unsure on size)
Is there anything else I'll need? I'd like a screen to monitor (or something I can use on a PC/Pi)

Then comes the wiring types/thickness and fuses and so on that I'll need. All this will be mounted in a 22u rack.

Oh, I am in Australia so some other recommendations might not be available here. I'd like to stick to Victron or Renogy

Thanks in advance

Here's some higher-level stuff to think about:

1. There's a huge gap in quality of equipment (and price) between Victron and Renogy. If those were my two options, I would try to spring for Victron if possible. If I were building a second system right now, and didn't want to go with an all-in-one unit, I'd buy Victron personally.
  2. I personally would avoid putting batteries in series if at all possible. It's mostly unneeded complexity, IMO, when you could just buy individual batteries at the voltage you want your system to be at. There are cheap 12V, 24V and 48V LFP batteries nowadays.
  3. Going to 48V rather than 12V or 24V can be more expensive up front for the hardware, but the cost can be offset by being able to go with smaller diameter (thus less expensive) cables, and they can as a result of the higher voltage, scale much higher in terms of input PV and output wattage. For example, going with a 3000W output inverter on a 12V system requires almost comically thick cables.